Let It Sit a Bit


This is the first of many posts that will focus on editing and writing. Yes, I know there are plenty of blogs out there about writing and editing. What can I possibly contribute that is different or relevant, you might ask? The answer is quite simple-my point of view. Nobody else has my point of view, nobody else sees the world the way I see it. Therefore, my thoughts and insights will be different, interesting, and inspiring – if all goes as planned.

At the moment, I am editing a novel I wrote during Nanowrimo, which is National Novel Writing Month for those not already involved- nanowrimo.com. I loved writing the novel and I was so proud to make the 50,000 mark at the end of November. I’ve let it sit for a little bit and now it’s time to get back into it. Which leads to my first topic:

Let It Sit a Bit

What I mean by that is do not jump into editing something right after it is written. Always give yourself a bit of a break. Not only is this good for your temperament and attitude but this space from a project gives you a new perspective when you return to it.

Some people may say that they don’t have the time to wait, but there is always time if you just think about it. Even a few minutes can make a difference. Get up, get a drink, walk around, etc. If you have more time, by all means-take it. A day or two is wonderful and everything will be brand new when you return. If you don’t believe me, just try it. You will find mistakes, rewording, restructuring and more when you return. If you’re sending anything out to be published or read by a client, please don’t send it out in haste. You will regret it most of the time. Even if there are no glaring errors, you could have said it better if you had taken the time to wait and read it again, couldn’t you?

So now I’m back to editing and rewriting. When it comes to nanowrimo, that means a lot of editing and rewriting. The idea is to write without any editing for a month. This gives you a lot to work with and it’s all raw material. As I go through this process, and work with clients, I’ll be sharing my experiences, frustrations, and triumphs. Share yours too, I would love to hear about it and share experiences.

Leave a Reply

