New Year’s Resolutions Once More


So, every year we make our resolutions, and every year we fail to achieve them. Or do we? Why do we make resolutions that are so hard to attain? What about making resolutions that are easy to achieve, but just require some dedication? Trying to lose weight, year in and year out, can only make one miserable. Why do it?

This year, I resolve to do the things that make me truly happy and make others truly happy. So here goes:

1. Read as much as possible. I have a pile of TBR books that are calling my name. I never seem to find the time to read them and the pile continues to grow. Either I move to Neil Gaiman’s library, or resolve to find the time. Less TV, more reading.

2. I will spend as much time as I can with my daughter. She makes me laugh, is so much fun to be around, and doesn’t mind hanging out with me right now. She’s 14 and will be heading off on her own very soon, then what?

3. Spend more time with my friends. I love being with friends, but the day-to-day responsibilities seem to take away from that. I’m going to make time to be with the ones who make me happy.

4. I am going to work on my novel with the goal of final edits in 4-6 months and an agent by the end of the year. Sounds lofty, but anything is possible and I feel great about my progress so far.

5. Drink more…Oh yeah, I know. But I have so few vices and I love a good martini or glass of wine. I will drink more of the good stuff and when I want to. I will share good times with friends over a glass of wine or champagne and not feel guilty for having it.

6. Keep up with my blogs…they make me happy. I like sharing writing advice and experiences and my gluten-free blog, www.gfinaz.blogspot.com, is something that I share with many people and I love it. There are thousands upon thousands of blogs out there, but I don’t care. I’ve got to make mine stand out.

7. Be positive. Sounds simple and a little silly, but it helps to stay positive about life. I am happy to be alive and healthy for another year. And if I find myself becoming negative, number five should help with that.

So there you have it…nothing negative, nothing impossible to achieve, nothing crazy. Just pure realistic goals.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

