Keeping Up with Social Media


I will admit that it’s new to me to market myself online. In my career, my work has always come to me by word of mouth. I’ve been lucky that way, and I’m good at what I do. That way, the references are honest and work is good.

But this past year I jumped into the arena with a Twitter account based on my writing, a blog based on editing/writing and have just come up with a Web site that will, hopefully, send business my way and open some doors. Isn’t that what these sites are for? For the life of me, I wasn’t sure what I needed a Web site for, really. I get my work by way of my reputation, so what do I need that for? But last year was a slow year and people don’t want to spend the money on a good editor. Too many times, this is the expense they feel they can live without, or they think that they can hire someone who charges much less. Well, as in most important decisions, you get what you pay for. And I’m not saying that you have to pay big bucks all the time, but if someone is only charging you $15/hour to editor your work, I would certainly question it. What kind of background do they have? What kind of references? Can you see their work or talk to prior clients?

Ah, but I digress…I’ve developed a Web site at http://web.me.com/vdemetros (I don’t have a domain yet, just taking it slow. Take a look and tell me what you think. I welcome the insight,) and I’ve linked this blog to the site. I know that keeping up with your content is essential and so far I’m having so much fun writing that it’s not a chore at all. I also know that it’s important to Tweet only relevant info instead of just “I’m drinking coffee and picking my toes.” That might be interesting some of the time, but not most of the time. I appreciate the Tweets with links to writing information, agent updates, etc.

The upside to all this? Since joining Twitter months ago, I have learned so much. I am able to follow some wonderful agents with amazing advice. It’s free advice from agents that I would pay for. It’s quips and gripes from editors, ideas on writing and story structure from writers, links to sites and information from so many people. And all this from just reading Tweets and keeping up.

My final “keeping up” is teaching others. I’ve taught a few writing courses and workshops and loved it. I’ve taught tweens and adults and both have been a satisfying experience. I was even talked into working on a “Hike and Write,” which put me on a long grueling hike with a journaling workshop at the top. At the time, I wasn’t much of a hiker, but I am now and I love it. I gave it my best shot and had a lot of fun. I’m going to pursue more workshops and writing courses and even take a few.

So follow me on Twitter (vdemetros), follow my blog and check out the Web site. It keeps me on my toes…

6 thoughts on “Keeping Up with Social Media

  1. I’m new to Twitter. Very new. I agree with you: at first you wonder why you’re doing it and a few weeks later, you love it. Great post. Thanks!
    Maryse

  2. I like your Web site — you’ve captured clearly what you have to offer and why people should hire you. Nicely done. Now I think I’ll blog . . . you’re inspiring me. Christia

  3. The site looks wonderful. I’ll need a good editor by the end of the year as I have one novel in re-write, one I just finished drafting and another that is in the planning stage.

    I haven’t twittered yet, because I’m not sure how to build my platform. I’m still in the infancy of learning the business and so I’m taking each step very cautiously.

    Do you plan to set up any online workshops?

    • Thanks. I haven’t thought of online yet, I’m still working on local. But that is a great idea.
      If you’re going to Twitter, just remember to keep it simple and related to writing. Even a few that are not are OK, just make sure your focus is on writing and not what you had for dinner, etc. It’s a great way to follow agents and other writers and learn from them, even if you don’t write much. I recommend it.

Leave a Reply

