You Get What You Give


I have always been a firm believer that we all get what we ask for. Put simply, what you send out into the universe is what comes back to you. People who are miserable, unsuccessful, and unhappy need to take a good hard look at what they are sending out into the universe before blaming everyone and everything for their misfortunes.

Have you ever said, “I’ll never be able to do that?” Maybe it was drawing, building a kite, landing that job, etc. Actually, that will come true because you just sent it out there. Ok, I’m not going to get all philosophical on you, go “Secret” on you, or sound like I’m wearing Birkenstocks and tie-dye. This is just something that has always been evident in my life.

For that reason, I’ve decided two things for the month of April…the first is to challenge myself to do one Random Act of Kindness each day of the month. Nothing too huge, just something nice for someone else. Whether it’s opening the door for someone, getting a drink for someone, paying for the guy’s coffee behind you in line, etc. Do something that has nothing to do with you and for which you will get no immediate return. Now think of what’s going out there in the universe…

The second thing I have decided to do is to focus all of my energy on my query letter in the month of April. I’ve signed up for a query critique workshop this month and I intend to get everything I can out of that workshop. I’m going to prime and polish that query so that every agent who gets it is going to beg for my MS, and why not? I’ve got so many hangups about how there are better writers out there, etc. What I need to do is build my confidence by jumping into this without looking back. Rejection is imminent, but so is success.

My hope for this month is twofold. I hope many people will join me in the RAOK Challenge I’ve given myself. When I posted it on Facebook and Twitter, I got many responses from people who wanted to take the challenge. A good friend of mine has decided to design a blog badge and start a crusade! I love this. What could be better than inspiring people to do good things for others?

My second hope, and I’m sure you can see this coming, is that my query will be accepted and that my MS will be requested. Then I’ll move on to the next step in this writing process I call my life.

Wish me luck and join me. Head over to my good friend Sarah’s blog and see where this is taking her. Let me know how it’s going for you and we may just make a difference!

8 thoughts on “You Get What You Give

  1. Oh, what a good blog post. I’m a huge believer in karma and that you get what you put out there. A random act of kindness month sounds like an excellent idea.

    On the query note, I say go for it and make it the best you possibly can. Best of luck with it!

  2. I just heard of a book called “29 Gift,” I think it is, written by a women with MS who decided to give something for 29 days and she saw her life and ability to cope with her health improve. You set a good example — I’m going to try it myself. Here’s to us!

  3. Pingback: A simple thing may change a world « Darksculptures Thinks & Writes

Leave a Reply

