MyNoWriMo starts today!


I had the fabulous experience of writing the first draft of my novel during NaNoWriMo. Wow, talk about pressure and motivation. But I found out something very interesting about myself-I need that. I need the deadline, the pressure, to feel that others are watching my progress. If not,  I’ll just wait till tomorrow, clean the kitchen, make a martini…you get the picture.

Therefore, while shopping around BOOK ONE, I am now starting on BOOK TWO and embarking upon MyNoWriMo (My Novel Writing Month). NaNoWriMo is a great program, but why wait for it? Why not create one of your own when you need it? Learning discipline is the best part of NaNoWriMo, so why not carry that into your life?

I’ve developed a great continuation for the story that began in BOOK ONE  and I’ve got 30 days, once again, to get this done (or 50K words at least). I’ll keep you up to date on my progress and I’m counting on all of you to keep me going. Last time I got up early every day since it was the best way for me to make sure it was done for every day. Sure, I was half asleep at times and my best friend was the coffee pot, but I felt great all day knowing I had taken care of my responsibility. I loved that I thought about the characters and story all day long-shopping,cleaning, writing, home schooling, planning, etc. It all involved my characters somehow-they followed me everywhere and ideas sparked and grew from all of it.

Why the hell are you writing BOOK TWO if you haven’t sold BOOK ONE, you may ask? Why not? So many have told me that selling a novel is even easier when you’ve got another in the works. More importantly, I need to keep the story going. I love these characters and I feel it’s my duty to keep them alive.

Join me in MyNoWriMo and let me know how you’re doing… Good luck!

12 thoughts on “MyNoWriMo starts today!

  1. Good for you! I’ll be writing alongside you.

    My goal was to have three completed drafts by the end of this year. So far I have one down which I wrote during NaNoWriMo also. I’m taking it a little slower with this one because writing quickly does lend to extra editing later and this will be the draft that I edit for submission next year.

    I’ve heard from several accomplished writers that it is always good to have two or three novels in the pipeline.

    I put a progress meter on my webpage so that others would and could hold me accountable.

  2. I got bit by NaNoWriMo really bad. I have been writing full novels since then. I am averaging one every two months. But since they are the rough drafts and it is taking me about 6 months to get the edits done on one, I have plenty of stuff to work with.

    In fact if I don’t write, I know something is wrong, ie ill.

    • I feel that way too. I think once you get into writing with discipline that NaNoWriMo demands, it’s hard to get away from it. One every two months is wonderful. Keep it up, you’re inspiring me. Thanks for following!

  3. I agree that if NaNo inspires you, why wait until November?

    For myself, I can’t seem to keep up to that kind of word count but I do need something to keep me accountable.

    Good luck!

  4. Wow, good for you! This is inspirational. I’m still plugging along on the novel I began during NaNo 2009. My characters follow me around all the time, too — or do I follow them? Sometimes I can’t tell which it is.

    I’m very impressed that you started a novel last November that is in a shoppable form.

    • Thanks. I’ve been editing like crazy and it’s time for feedback before I go any further. I figure it’s time to start on #2 while I’m waiting. Keep your fingers crossed and thanks for following!

  5. Good luck. I shall be monitoring your progress.
    I completed my NaNoWriMo novel and the edits are almost done, then it’s ready to shop!
    The follow-up is at the pre-writing stage – in other words, plenty of notes taken and almost ready to fit them all together.

    N

Leave a Reply

