Sometimes you just need a night out with the gals, and swag!


One of my goals for the next few months was to learn more about social networking, building a platform, building a following, etc. How to do that? I figured the best way to accomplish that was to find others who know how and pick their brains, beg for info, whatever it took. But I didn’t have to go that far since I had a friend who was blogging, gaining immense following and knew all about it. How is that possible that I didn’t even know that Sara was a font of blog/network information. A whirlpool of free info.

On top of that, I was invited to the Phoenix Moms Night Out, thanks to Sara and- Pow-I walked into a room full of savvy, intelligent women who blog, raise kids, work, and have fun. What a great place-I was in heaven. I met so many women who were struggling with the same issues-working, raising kids, making time for themselves, etc. With wine and new friends, this was a night to remember.

And what could be better than that? One word-Swag. Two bags of goodies-some for me to keep and some I know my friends will be happy to get. The Capital Grille in Scottsdale hosted this event and Linda, the sales and marketing manager, took care of us with charm and generosity. The food was tremendous-crab cakes, sliders, fried calamari, seared tuna, etc. And when I said I had a food allergy, the chef came up with an heirloom tomato/mozzarella salad to die for! (I love being treated like a queen!)

Ok, here’s what we got in the swag bags-you know you’re jealous already… my favorite was the cup cozy from Boutique Karma. Reusable and lovely, and I’m feeling a little more Green already.

Also included were chocolates from Dove Chocolates (my favorite member of the food pyramid), snack cakes from Little Debbie (my husband took those to work today with a smile), and lovely baking cups from Simply Sweet, a specialty baking shop in the Phoenix area.

Now, there was also a My Little Pony in the bag, and I won another one in a drawing. Since my daughter is 14 and has passed the pony stage, I traded with Sara for her cute T-shirt from Me Time. Perfect deal. And there were books in each bag and a pacifier that I know my friend Sarah will love for her new baby, Kit.

Another favorite of mine was the small gift from The Body Shop, provided by Sierra Orthodontics in town. Thanks guys! If I need Invisalign braces the future, I know who to call.

I’m looking forward to spending more time with these great women, and learning more about how they have built such awesome platforms on the Internet. Social networking afire! Thanks guys…back to writing…

6 thoughts on “Sometimes you just need a night out with the gals, and swag!

  1. Wow! Sounds like a fantastic night out and your right – swag always makes it better when there is chocolate in the mix.

    I think the platform building part is the hardest thing for me to wrap my head around and I’d love it if you passed along any bits of wisdom you aquire.

  2. Anyone interested in joining our little local group… don’t hesitate to contact me! I chair the group and my email is kelly at everydaychildhood dot com.

    Thanks so much for coming out Valerie! Great post in support of our sponsors! I’m so happy you had a good time and met some great people!

    xo

  3. I’m so glad you enjoyed yourself AND willingly traded prizes with me. The My Little Pony was well received. Thank you for trusting me when I said it would be a great time. I look forward to more opportunities to learn from you!

Leave a Reply

