10 Things That Make Me Happy


I saw a fun post at Childhood today where she listed the top 10 things that make her happy. The list is being tagged to other bloggers and they are filling out their top 10 things. (You can follow along from her site.) I love this idea because I like thinking about being happy. Sappy, isn’t it? But anyone who knows me knows that I’m not a sappy person. I’m happy and straightforward. But these days, knowing who I am and what I want from life has made me a much happier person.

Let me know what your top 10 are, did you have to think long and hard about it, or did it come quickly? I really had to think about my list, but not so much because I couldn’t think of anything. There are so many things that make me happy that I had a hard time whittling it down to just 10. That’s a good thing and should be one of my top 10, but I’m not wasting one with that. So here goes…

Top 10 Things That Make Me Happy

1. A Beautiful Arizona Spring Day

I can’t help it, I just want to be outside all day when it’s 75, breezy and beautiful in the spring here. I want to stay out all day, and even eat dinner on the patio until the sun goes down, then I want to sit outside and have a glass of wine. How can you be unhappy when the weather is so lovely? I can’t help inviting everyone I know for breakfast and tea just to sit outside.

2. Chocolate

Pure and simple, I love it. I don’t have to eat a lot of it, but it puts a smile on my face when I do. One small Godiva raspberry truffle, white chocolate starfish, See’s Dark Chocolate California Crunch, you know what I’m talking about. Skip the huge, cheap candy bar and go for one incredible piece of joy. That one piece of chocolate and a glass of wine can be heaven (take it out on the patio on that beautiful Arizona day.)

3. Organization

OK, I didn’t say I was organized. But sometimes I do get that fly in my shorts and decide to rearrange the kitchen, clean my closet, organize my desk, etc. Wow, does that feel good! I love looking at a room I just cleaned, or sitting at my desk after I’ve taken the time to dust, organize and get ready for a day of writing. It feels almost as good as losing a few pounds. Which leads me to number 4.

4. Losing a Few Pounds

I love losing weight, I admit it. I watch my weight on the scale and I try all the time to lower that number. It doesn’t always happen (read number 2). When it happens, I feel as if I’ve won the lottery. When I fit into a pair of jeans that have been snug, I’m on cloud nine and smile even more. Yeah, this one is great.

5. My Daughter’s Art

My daughter is happy to sit and draw all day and all night, and she does. Being home-schooled, she has the opportunity to work it into her day as much as she pleases. She has a backpack with her at all times just in case the opportunity arises. Me: “We’re going to the grocery store. Why do you need your backpack?” Daughter: “You never know when the opportunity to draw may come up.” And she’s right, you never know. She draws beautiful, expressive faces and creatures from her imagination and I love them all, along with her passion for it.

6. Writing

Being in the zone and following the voices in my head-ahhh, that makes me crazy happy. I may be stiff and thirsty, but I love it when I start to write and 2 hours later I “wake up” and realize I haven’t moved from that spot. And even then I want to just keep going. I don’t want to cook, shop, watch TV or anything else, just write. Some days I don’t start writing simply because I know I won’t want to stop. I know I have things to do and I won’t want to do them, or just won’t do them.

7. Friends

Sounds sappy, but I am a people person. I love having friends around me. I need to bounce ideas, sympathize, hug, laugh, cry, etc. with my friends. I’m honored when someone confides in me, and feel grateful to have friends I can trust with my deepest thoughts and feelings. I can’t imagine a life without the laughter and embraces from good friends.

8. A New Purse

I change handbags every few days. It’s a passion (or obsession, depending on how you look at it). They are large, small, expensive, cheap, rustic, fancy, etc. I change them as my mood changes and it’s quite easy to see how I’m feeling by the purse I’m carrying. Am I feeling light and free? –Then I need the small Coach bag that holds just my phone and wallet. Feeling serious or needy? — I need the larger bag that holds the iPad, wallet, Blackberry, Band-aids, Chapstick, etc. Feeling sexy and having a good hair day? This definitely calls for the vintage pink suede clutch. Whatever I feel, I have a bag to go with it.

9. Blog Comments/Retweets

Doesn’t it feel great when someone comments on your blog? It makes me feel all warm and fuzzy, like someone just gave me flowers. I know it sounds silly, and I may be very new at blogging, but either here or at my cooking blog I get all tingly when I get an e-mail that I have a comment. I love blogging and that just makes me happy. There, I said it, and you don’t have to comment if you don’t want to. Seriously.

And as far as tweeting goes, I’m hooked. I love being retweeted. Why? Same reason as above, (warm and fuzzy.) Also, how do you know if anyone is reading or paying attention to your tweets or blogs? Yes, I can see traffic to the blog, but comments and RTs tell me people are listening. Thanks people!

10. A Good Hair Day

Fess up, you know you love this too. Having a good hair day can make your day, no matter what’s going on. The only negative about a good hair day might be that you have nowhere to go and show it off. Ever have one of those days? You get up, fix that fantastic hair, then realize you really don’t have much to do that day. Nobody is going to see it! But you see it and it makes you feel good…that’s how I feel. Good hair is better than the perfect purse to match your mood (or equal, at least).

Here’s hoping you’re all having a good hair day today!

6 thoughts on “10 Things That Make Me Happy

    • I should have added that one, it’s one of my favorite activities…being alone! Especially if you have children, then your time alone becomes even more precious! Thanks for reminding me.

  1. I’m not normally a fan of these type of memes because they tend to be very list-y and not explain much. I love that you explained why these were important and meaningful to you. I also learned a lot about you. Nothing real earth shattering, but #7 made me appreciate our Tea & Tech morning even more.

    As for #9, you can always count on me to let you know what you say matters.

Leave a Reply

