Confessions of an undisciplined writer


OK, I’m going to admit this right here and now…I have very little discipline when it comes to writing. In real life, I am pretty disciplined when it comes to taking care of my home, kids, etc. But when it comes to writing, not so much. Why? I have no idea. It takes a back seat to just about everything, including grocery shopping, new episodes of Doctor Who and looking for nail polish at Walgreen’s. What the heck?

Perhaps I need a therapist to help me figure this out, someone to sit back with a pencil in his hand, pad poised and ready, saying something like, “Tell me how that makes you feel.” ….Nah, on second thought that would just annoy me. I know how it makes me feel-like crap. Because I should be writing and I’m not. But those of you out there reading this right now are going to tell me exactly what to do, aren’t you? Sit down and do it…that’s all there is to it. If I had a deadline, paycheck, etc. it might be more of an incentive, but since there are none of those things looming just over the horizon, I tend to procrastinate. Human nature? Perhaps, but I’m sitting here writing this and opening up a vein for you guys…that’s a start. Now I’ve got some writing to do!

What do you do to keep motivated? What do you do to keep your butt in the chair? I really want to know!

7 thoughts on “Confessions of an undisciplined writer

  1. We procrastinate because our writing puts our very essence on display, and that’s daunting. Just know that whatever you want or need to write, no one can do it better than you because no one cares as much as you do — at least this thought has gotten me through many a period of procrastination — and, deadlines, the harsher the better, work best for me. In lieu of a city editor, maybe we should give each other deadlines?

  2. Right now the heat is keeping me motivated. Time in the garden is limited by the strength of this summer sun and a little air conditioning and writing is a welcome relief. Not to mention the garden inspires my poetry.

    But lately my novel has drawn me back in. There is a sense of urgency on my heart to get it rewritten. I don’t know where the drive is coming from, but I plan to take advantage of it while it is here.

    I’ve tried to get a few of my friends to hold each other to an accountability test in the past, but it is not something that anyone would commit to on a weekly basis. So we settled for accountability during that one draft a year we write in November. The other eleven months we have to find ways of keeping ourselves motivated without any outside help. Some weeks we fail and some weeks we are successful. Sometimes life simply happens.

    If you can find a writing partner I’ve heard that is the best means of motivation. Other than that I use weekly and monthly goals to keep me on track.

    • Wow, thanks for your thoughts (which are always wonderful). I am trying to find someone to be that accountability rock for me, so far to takers. It is hard to do, you are right there. And summers make it even more easy to slack off-it’s just too freakin’ hot! But I hear what you’re saying and we really need to motivate ourselves, don’t we?

Leave a Reply

