Learning Something New Each Day


I firmly believe that learning is something we should never stop doing. Just because we’re not in school anymore doesn’t mean we shouldn’t strive to keep updated with what’s going on in the world. Learning a new language, computer basics, online changes, etc. They all keep our brains alert and more importantly, we are much more interesting people when we can converse on all kinds of topics.

Daughter is learning sign language at the local community college and she’s teaching me after each class what she’s learned. We’re playing Go Fish in sign and talking to each other in sign as much as possible. Not only does this make for some interesting days, it also keeps us both learning and growing.

This also goes for your professional life. Continuing education is so important in any line of work. As a writer, I love reading about how others change and edit, I love reading and finding out how others have handled different subjects and transitions. We learn every day as we read other writers’ work. We know doctors, nurses, lawyers, etc. must keep up with current changes in the industry, why shouldn’t we? How does the publishing industry look right now with online publishing, e-readers, etc.?

How do you keep learning?

6 thoughts on “Learning Something New Each Day

  1. I’m a huge fan of lifelong learning. It was instilled in me very early in my life. And it pains me when I hear people say they hate having to learn new things. OK, sure, I don’t really want to learn how to change the oil on my vehicle but that shouldn’t stop me from learning something basic about it such as when it needs to be done where I go to do it.

    For my various licenses I’m required to do annual or bi-annual continuing education. I grumble because it’s boring some times but I always learn something.

    There’s so much out there and with technology changing so quickly and bringing educational opportunities to our desktop and phones to partake in at our convenience it’s even easier to learn. Now, if only there was enough time in the day!

    • So true, and if you have kids, it’s even more important to keep learning so that we don’t get too far apart in knowledge. I’m always afraid my daughter is going to surpass me in computers and technology, to say nothing of trends and business. She is already surpassing me on so many things, I just want to keep up!

    • You’re dad was a smart man, and smart friends are something I truly believe will keep your brain working. My grandmother spent a lot of time with her friends all the time I was growing up. At first, I thought she was being selfish by not staying home and taking care of my grandpa (I was told she should have stayed home). Now I totally get it and I know she was taking care of herself. I am the same way now and I want to surround myself with wonderful, intelligent, witty women who enhance my life-Grandma was sure on to something. Thanks for being one of them!

  2. The publishing industry is changing so fast that even a full time student of the trade has a difficult time keeping up with all of the new technology, resources, and legal issues that have sprung up from the evolution of print to digital format. The strong will survive, but it will take an enormous amount of effort to stay on top of these trends as they are tested against the marketplace.

    Eventually a successful formula will emerge and the front-runner in that area will squash all of the little technologies that are popping up around the e-publishing business. When that happens the average person, who is limited in the amount of time they can devote to learning the new technology, will be able to catch up. At least I hope that is what happens. I’d hate to think we could potentially lose the next great American novel because the author simply could not keep up.

    If I weren’t so stubborn I would sit out the process and spend all my time writing. I’m simply afraid that if I took that approach I’d miss something important and I don’t think I’m alone in that train of thought.

    That said, I question my own approach. Am I sacrificing so much writing time to learning the changing business models that I may have lost some great stories to the process?

    • Those are excellent points. There is so much to learn about this industry and I do spend a lot of time reading about how to maneuver around all the obstacles. But if we are not up to date, how can we compete? Although, the bottom line is if you write something worth reading, it will find a way out there, right? Good points to think about.

Leave a Reply

