Nanowrimo, I just can’t quit you!


OK, we did break up yesterday, but nano is still courting me. I’m getting the e-mails and listening to everyone on Twitter chatter on about their word counts and snacks and such, as if they are all dating the guy I dumped. So, I just can’t let go.

No, I’m not going to go back to the competition, but since I do remember what it was like to date, er I mean, participate with nanowrimo, I’m still offering up my tips and ideas when I find them.

Tips from fellow writers on Twitter provided some great advice:

@CrayonWrangler had a few great tips…

1. “Be flexible to your own instinct and be consistent and realistic with your goals.”
2. “Don’t focus so much on the finer points of writing…TELL YOUR STORY and let it flow. You can revisit and revamp later.”
3.  “Also recognize that there ARE 30 days in which to create your novel. Plug it out but remember that polishing comes later.”

@pamstucky said her “best #nanowrimo advice: Shut down Twitter and TweetDeck! :)”

@dolly612 reminded everyone to “take it in your own stride. It’s not a competition.”

Great advice for any writing endeavor, not just a 30-day challenge. Keep it up everyone, I’m watching with jealousy as you hang out at my ex’s place.

 

4 thoughts on “Nanowrimo, I just can’t quit you!

  1. OK, so maybe you’re not hanging with NaNoWriMo in the traditional sense. But, what if you’re one of those people who can be friends with ‘the ex’? You know, just have a good relationship and when you need to hang out with someone you know ‘the ex’ will show up and laugh with you and listen to you talk about other cool things.

    Possibly that’s what this NaNoWriMo is for you. Sure you’re broken up and not seeing each other on a daily basis. But it’s all good. You’ve just moved on to a different relationship. And, well, maybe next year or another year you’ll meet up again and have a little one-month fling ‘just for old time sake’.

  2. YAY!!! I was thrilled to see that you are still somewhat participating! Even if you are not writing a new novel, you are still working on a novel.
    Thank you for sharing my tips and I hope that they might be helpful to others who are just starting, wanting to quit or dutifully hitting their goal count.
    Great to meet you, its been a pleasure connecting with you on Twitter.

Leave a Reply

