Does Nanowrimo Cause Weight Gain?


What’s your poison? For a few days now I’ve been joking with my fellow Tweeters about the chocolate stash one must have in order to take part in nanowrimo. Except it’s not really joking, is it people? Some of them are eating chocolate I’ve never heard of  before in countries I only dream about visiting. But the universal fact I’ve come to believe is that chocolate does make nanowrimo easier.

Last year I completed nanowrimo while munching on numerous bowls of M&Ms as I wrote. I went through a good amount of 1/2-price Halloween M&Ms during the month of November and I’m not ashamed to admit it. Of course, that wasn’t good for my waistline or health judging by the extra pounds I packed on my ass, but I think it was quite good for my creativity.

This year, although not participating in nanowrimo, I am editing and working and therefore have stocked up at See’s Candy. But this year, it’s a little different…one per day, that’s all I’m giving myself. The result so far? Not so good. My motivation is way down…I’m just not feelin’ it. Now, this could be from many factors, but I have to wonder if it has to do with the lack of M&Ms. Why not? My lack of sugar rush and chocolate fix could be holding me back. And who am I to deprive my creativity? I’m breaking down, people!

What keeps you going? Twizzlers, M&Ms, Twinkies? Of course, it could be carrots sticks and tea for some of you, but then that would just be crazy and I simply don’t want to hear about it. It’s just not natural.

 

5 thoughts on “Does Nanowrimo Cause Weight Gain?

  1. Green tea does keep me going and keeps me from eating too much chocolate. That said, Cadbury’s Counters are currently keeping me going, with the odd Malteser or several thrown in for good measure. Licorice is also good but, of course, you can’t have too much of that…

  2. The fruity candies keep me going — like cherry Twizzlers. Even better, is drinking my diet cherry coke through a Twizzler. That is almost heaven-like.

    Happy to find your blog~

    • Oh, how I miss Twizzlers. My ultimate favorite candy and great for writing, isn’t it? Drinking a Diet Cherry Coke through it would be heaven. Twizzlers have wheat in them, believe it or not, and I can’t eat them! So bummed when I found out…nothing compares! Glad you found the blog, welcome!

Leave a Reply

