What if that scene just doesn’t work?


I’m doing something unpleasant today…rewriting a scene I am in love with. I have loved it since I wrote it last year, and although I will always love it, I have come to realize that it just doesn’t work where I have it. Since writing the scene, I have changed some of the characters and their motivations. I know I have to do it, but why is it so hard?

I nurtured it, developed it and sculpted it. Now I must kill it. It’s as simple as that. And the lesson here is that I can be connected to my story and its characters, but I should not get too attached to any part of the book. Once it goes to a publisher/editor, I know there will be more changes suggested. I’m priming myself for that time, even though I know it will be difficult.

Right now my focus is on making the replacement something that rocks even more. Something that moves the story along, develops the plot and makes the reader understand the MC even more. Can that be done? Oh yeah…but scene #1, I’ll never forget you…

 

 

4 thoughts on “What if that scene just doesn’t work?

  1. It’s kind of like a good recipe. The first time you make it you think its great and everything and then you make it again, only this time you tweak it because you realize it needed a little more pizzaz and the 2nd time it’s even better. But with the 2nd time you invite your friend over to try it and your friend says it’s OK. And you’re all, “No, it’s awesome!” but your friend thinks you still need to tweak it a bit. So you throw your friend out of the house for insulting your great food only to realize hours later than maybe they were right and it could use a little of this or that. But you don’t tell your friend these things, because they’ll get a big head. So you just change it up again until all the world is totally in love with your creation and you can replicate it 20 different ways and go on to make millions of dollars.

    And, that, my friend, is what will happen to your book!

Leave a Reply

