Go ahead and insult me!


It has taken years for me to grow this thick skin. Insults and rude remarks would cut like a knife years ago and I would mull them over and over as the night went on, sinking deeper into despair. “Do I really look like that?” “Did she really mean that?”

But now, I have found a way to live with insults and even benefit from them. I use them. I write them down and I use them in my writing. Truth is stranger than fiction, in so many ways. Right? So every insult is a scene opportunity. I’ve worked two scenes around off-hand insults I’ve heard. One was thrown at me, the other was tossed at someone sitting near me.

Eavesdropping for insults is just as effective if you’re lucky enough to be loved by everyone and never have any lobbed in your direction. I’m lucky enough to surround myself with people who have no problem dropping insults like German bombs on England in WWII. Most of the time I have to keep from getting blasted before I remind myself that I can use them. I may even set myself up as a target just to get a good one now and then. Don’t judge me silently whatever you do, I need the material.

 

14 thoughts on “Go ahead and insult me!

  1. Valerie,

    Are we drinking from the same well? Where do people get this attitude of “You’re not perfect like me, so I’m going to tell you how imperfect you are.” And why do they think they are the village crier? Personally, I believe there is another job for them in the village – well, other than providing you with material.

    ~ Sara

    • Sara, I think we’re on the same page for sure. We need to meet for a martini and toast to these people, or just share stories! As long as we know who we are, that’s all that counts!

  2. I just found your blog through the comment section of Saving for Someday. We have girls about the same age and you also homeschool the youngest. I am sure we could swap stories about this experience. It is very rare where I live for a family to do that.
    Loved this post because it is really putting a positive spin on the insult. I need to try this approach. Lately my hot flashing hormonal approach tends to go toward the negative. Probably not the best idea and should work on looking for the good.
    Look forward to reading more of your writing.
    Margaret

    • Margaret, nice to meet you. My oldest has graduated and the youngest is now homeschooling high school. We’re having fun with it and we have friends who have kids going into high school and younger ones homeschooling. Seems to be a trend around here.
      I have learned to roll with insults. Only unhappy people try to make you unhappy, so I just figure they’ve got an issue. Besides, I get some good writing material (especially when my daughter tells me what goes on in her life!)
      Talk to you again soon, I hope!

  3. Pingback: Go ahead and insult me! (via Valerie Demetros – The Writing Life) « Of a Writerly Sort

    • I’m not sure what to think of this. Is this traditional? I love that you linked my blog and didn’t steal it, and attributed it to me. But it’s the first time anyone has done that before. Glad you liked it and thanks for sending readers my way.

  4. I just found your blog through the comment section of Saving for Someday. We have girls about the same age and you also homeschool the youngest. I am sure we could swap stories about this experience. It is very rare where I live for a family to do that.Loved this post because it is really putting a positive spin on the insult. I need to try this approach. Lately my hot flashing hormonal approach tends to go toward the negative. Probably not the best idea and should work on looking for the good.Look forward to reading more of your writing.Margaret
    +1

  5. I just found your blog through an article in the Arizona Republic on Gluten Free Eating. I love the way you write, love it when people write like they speak and think. Great work! I too am a writer and my genre is usually food and health.

Leave a Reply

