Writing funks are fattening


Comfort food keeps me from writing

I’m in a writing funk and we all know what that means…I eat. So far, I’ve made homemade caramel corn (drizzled with chocolate, no less), pasta with grilled mushrooms and toasted pine nuts, roasted beet and beet green salad with truffle oil, and lots of snickerdoodles, spinach quiches and just plain old dark chocolate. What the heck?

Normally, I’m busy writing and grab a little mozzarella/tomato salad or yogurt, but when I’m in a funk and not writing, I find that cooking fills the void (in my time and loose jeans). Now, I’m 5 lbs heavier and 0 pages further in my WIP. So, it’s time to get back to writing, buy more yogurt and get to work.

On top of that, I’m not the easiest person to live with to begin with, but when I’m gaining weight, eating chocolate, and not working…stand back. The best anyone can do in this situation is give me space (and chocolate) until the funk is over.

So, I’m sure you were wondering where I was and now you know. And with any luck, that muffin top will be gone and I’ll be further ahead in my project, which will make us all happy. Now, where is that bag of Ghiradelli dark-chocolate squares?

4 thoughts on “Writing funks are fattening

  1. I don’t know what it is about being in a funk that somehow makes food call my name. It’s like nothing really sounds good so I keep making and eating until it all just clicks.

    And these companies should stop putting spandex in jeans. They’re just enablers!

Leave a Reply

