The studio built by love


Finding joy in the process is half the fun

This is the studio that love built.

The writing studio (I’m calling it a studio now instead of a shed, which sounds too much like a storage room) is coming along amazingly well. Husband has been working his ass off these past few days and put a big window in yesterday and the wood floor went in today. Floor trim tomorrow, then window trim, and then we’re done. Did I mention he painted it last weekend and cleaned it out every night after work? He won’t let me help, says I can decorate but this is his gift to me. How awesome is that?

I thought of the foundation that went into the room today and realized that the foundation to my writing must also be as strong. Husband wore the skin off both knees laying that foundation today, which means that I can’t screw around after this studio is ready. I must be serious. I’ve been thinking about what this studio means to me, why I write and when I write. I can write anywhere, anytime, that’s true. But now I have a serious, dedicated space to hide… I mean retreat to… and write. No excuses, no procrastination. It’s been a dream for so long and it’s finally coming true. I love him for loving me. Thank you, my love!

6 thoughts on “The studio built by love

  1. Your husband’s act of love is awesome, and I can’t wait to see his handiwork. What a wonderful thing you two, in essence, are creating together — the very foundation for your words. And, as Chuck Kelly always says, one needs to get into a creative state of mind and now you have an automatic creative state of mind in your creative space. I think I’m feeling creative vicariously . . .

    • Thanks so much. I’m so proud of him for doing all this, and so glad he’s doing it for me! Chuck Kelly is a smart man…I knew I liked him when I knew him at the Republic.

Leave a Reply

