Another evil distraction from writing-Professor Layton


Step Away From The Professor

I’ve always been so proud of the fact that we don’t have any gaming systems in our home. No Wii, Gameboy, PS2, and whatever else is out there. Not even handheld games. For that reason, my daughter is a huge reader. Her room is strewn with books of all kinds and she loves to write as well as read. Watching movies is also one of our passions and that takes enough time away from writing for me, but it is something we love to do together. So much so that she is now writing a monthly movie review column in the local newspaper.

So what is sucking my time, you ask? A damned Nintendo DS, that’s what. A small, hand-held gaming system for crying out loud. I bought a Nintendo 3DS for Daughter for her 16th birthday, which was about 2 months ago. She loves to play it and has discovered some wonderful puzzle/mystery games. I figure that’s good brain food so no problem. But then Husband gave one to me for Christmas and I’ve been playing it ever since. It’s only been a few days and I think I need an Intervention.

Ever heard of Professor Layton? It’s a puzzle/mystery game that is frustrating, fun, exasperating, interesting and a huge time-sucker. It’s also sold about 10 million copies and is one of Nintendo’s most popular games.

The professor and his assistant/sidekick Luke are searching in a small town for a missing Golden Apple, which is some kind of inheritance. Along the way, they must solve puzzles in order to get closer to solving the mysteries that pop up, such as a missing cat, kidnapped cousin, murder, etc. It’s frustrating since the games and puzzles involve geometry, numbers, shapes, etc. Some are easy, some are not. You can ask for hints, but it costs you and they aren’t very good hints.

I love it, and now I know why there haven’t been any games in the house up until now. I’m more of an addict that Daughter (if that’s possible). And not only that, the DS is pink. How cool is that? Now I’m looking for fun games to play on it and cursing Husband for such a crazy gift. I love it and I hate it at the same time.

Oh, and there are six levels of the Professor Layton series. Seriously? I’ll never get any work done!

Damn that Professor!

 

2 thoughts on “Another evil distraction from writing-Professor Layton

  1. My pink DS was stolen when we were burgled two years ago and I miss it terribly. So I probably have some games and such I can give you . . . although you writing about Professor Layton has made me want to spend some of my Christmas money on something besides a new TV. Christia

Leave a Reply

