The small differences between Stephen King and me


Living in Arizona means there are many more hot days than cold days, no big secret there. And it’s not so bad in the long run, but for someone who loves writing when it’s cold outside, that’s a bummer. I love it when there’s a fire in the hearth or even a heater running, warm tea by my side (or a glass of good single malt Scotch). The words seem to flow and the energy that comes in through the window with the chill air is electric.

Now, as I sit here my mind wanders to great writers, prolific writers and I come to the conclusion that there are only a few small differences between Stephen King and me. (Just a few, you say? Yes, follow along.) First, his fiction has been published. Yes, I know this is a big one. And although I have been published in plenty of nonfiction, I haven’t sent my fiction out there just yet, but I intend to remedy this difference very soon. Then there will be even less difference between me and Stephen, J.K., Ernest and more.

Third, and this is a bigger one…he lives in Maine. It’s cold there and it even snows, and he’s got the fire going, a glass of Scotch, pine trees outside the window, etc. Now, of course I’m only imagining this since Stephen hasn’t yet invited me to his place in Maine (Notice I said yet. I’m keeping the door open on that one). But in my head, that’s what it looks like. And in my head, that’s why he writes so much and so well. The energy of the cool air and the sound of the wind through the trees, even the crackling of the fire behind him in the hearth only add to his creativity. (OK, I know his history and he wrote at a desk between the washer and dryer in a small apartment, but I like to believe that’s all made up. I need a fantasy, so shut up!)

It’s a cool, breezy day here in Arizona, one of the last of the season and I’m taking full advantage of it. I have my tea (it’s still early), the windows are open and the breeze is chilly and crisp. There’s even a chance of rain, which makes me giddy with anticipation. So I close off this blog post in order to use the rest of this splendid weather and write. Hmm, I wonder if there’s room near the washer and dryer for my desk…

 

5 thoughts on “The small differences between Stephen King and me

  1. I’m with you on this one, Valerie. When it’s sunny out, I just want to be outside. I find it much easier to keep my butt on the chair and write when the weather is grey and cool – happily, I live in Wales, so this happens often enough to keep me doing just that! Enjoy the rest of your perfect writing day!

    • Oh, I’m so jealous. I imagine it’s cold and grey a lot in Wales, with lots of places to take long walks in the cool weather. I suppose I’ll make the most of what I’ve got today. Thanks for following!

      • Lol! It is like that a fair bit but we also have some stunning weather. We had a heatwave and nothing but blue skies and sunshine for the whole of March.

      • Sounds beautiful to me. I’d like to see it for myself someday. We have heatwaves here too, but a little more extreme. It gets up to 120 in the summer sometimes, the steering wheel burns your hands!

      • Ouch! That sounds way too hot and way too much like a proper heatwave. (Ours barely reached 60 degrees)

        Hope you get to see Wales one day, it is well worth a visit. I’m here for a start!

Leave a Reply

