What I did on my summer vacation


Taking a break from writing can be great. It can also be stressful if you feel like something is missing. So, I decided to take a break and work at a few art projects. These are a few things I’ve wanted to do, but thought I didn’t have the time. So, I took the time. Now don’t judge, it was just for my benefit and creative outlet. But I thought you might get a kick out of it.

Step One: Find a terrible painting at a thrift store or garage sale. Better yet, find something you painted during one of those wine & paint parties. (Yes, I know. Pretty bad, huh?)

Yeah, I did this. But there was wine involved…

Step Two: Lay out the stickers the way you want them and don’t be afraid to change it up.

Step Three: Paint over the stickers and canvas in any color you want. I chose black and brown. Cover till you get the desired color. Don’t worry about being perfect, it is art, remember? (I used acrylic paint, btw.)

Step Four: After it’s dried (took about 15 minutes), peel off the letters. I added a few 3-D stickers and a photo of my husband and daughter, as well as a set of beads.

Viola!

Steady hammering skills make for lovely jewelry, right?

I first saw something like this on Pinterest and it looked pretty easy. This project is simply washers (ok, I raided Husband’s toolbox) and a small letter kit I bought at Harbor Freight ($7). Choose words you want but make them short, then add beads or embellishments. Daughter is a big Sherlock fan, hence the 221B reference.

Heads up: Make sure you find a firm place to on which to hammer these. I actually split a concrete block while hammering. Good thing it was just used as a door stop in the back yard.
What do you do to give yourself a varied creative outlet?

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “What I did on my summer vacation

  1. I’ve been trying my hand at junk art – My latest creation involves a thrift store frame, plywood, and a deliciously rusty speaker from my husband’s ’65 Mustang. Visual art, I think, nurtures a part of my brain that I rely on as a writer.

    • Oooh, I’d love to see that. I’ve got some old metal from my husband’s projects. I’ve been thinking about creating something from it, just haven’t figured out what. Wish I knew how to weld. I think you’re right about nurturing your brain with visual art. It really feels good and gets my writing brain into a new setting.

      • You know, I was feeling badly about not knowing how to weld, but I have an artist friend who creates beautiful metal art, and she took a welding class and didn’t like it at all. She uses silicone caulking, which she says works well bonding different metals and other materials to each other. I was thinking of posting a photo of this piece when it is finished – if you are interested I’ll send you the link. I am all excited about the stamped washer necklace you made – what a great family art project!

      • That sounds good. I’ll have to try that silicone caulking and see if it works. And if you try the necklaces, let me know how it goes. Oh, and I’d love to see photos of your work. Throw the link at me, please! Thanks.

  2. Finally, my creation is finished (I think)! It’s hard to stop making little changes. I’ve posted a photo on my website at: http://www.jenniferphelpswrites.com/writing/poetry/gone/

    I guess it won’t make that link live so you might have to paste that into your browser. We’ll probably be trying those necklaces soon – my husband has the die letter kit, but it belonged to his father, so we must “be careful with it” – I may go to Harbor Freight as you suggested and get an inexpensive kit that I can pound on without reservations.

    • I love it! Actually, I don’t know which one I like better, the poem or the artwork. That’s a brilliant poem that touched me, made me feel as if I were the one with you on top of that slide with the beer. It was me, many times with my friends. Wonderful. The art is smashing, I feel inadequate now compared to your talent. I love the handle on there. It’s inspiring for me to see that, thanks so much. I don’t see where I can comment on that post, so I’ll just tell you here how much I liked it.

      • Thank you so much for your kind words! That is my website so there isn’t a place for comments there anyway. I look forward to more of your posts! Thanks for taking the time to check out my link. I’m new to WordPress and it’s great to connect with other writers. 🙂

Leave a Reply

